Officers & Committees

For general information on the organization of the IAS, please see our bylaws. Click on any officer’s name to contact by email.

Board of Directors

President Mark Rosen (2021)¬†specializes in the relationship between art and cartography in¬†early modern Europe, in particular the extra-geographical meaning of maps in Renaissance culture. He is the author of The Mapping of Power in Renaissance Italy: Painted Cartographic Cycles in Social and Intellectual Context (Cambridge, 2015) and essays published in¬†The Art Bulletin, Source, the Mitteilungen des Kunsthistorischen Institutes in Florenz, and Nuncius, among others. His current project concerns the technological and visual rhetorics of the bird’s-eye view and seeing from above. He is Associate Professor of Aesthetic Studies at the University of Texas at Dallas, where he is also a member of the Edith O’Donnell Institute of Art History.

Executive Vice President Sarah Wilkins (2021)¬†is a specialist in late medieval and early Renaissance art, whose research focuses on mendicant and Angevin patronage, and the veneration of Mary Magdalen. She has published articles on the visual cult of the Magdalen, including ‚ÄúImaging the Angevin Patron Saint: Mary Magdalen in the Pipino Chapel in Naples‚ÄĚ (2012). Dr. Wilkins is a founding member of the steering committee of the biennial Andrew Ladis Memorial Trecento Conference and the co-editor with Holly Flora of Trecento Forum I: Art and Experience in Trecento Italy (2018), the inaugural volume of Trecento Forum, a new book series on the trecento for which she and Dr. Flora are the series editors. Her current project investigates the Magdalen Chapel in the Palazzo del Podest√† in Florence, and the role played there by the Compagnia dei Neri. She is adjunct assistant professor at Pratt Institute and lecturer in Johns Hopkins’ Masters of Liberal Arts program.

Vice President for Program Coordination Cristelle Baskins¬†(2021) is Associate Professor at Tufts University where she has taught courses in Italian Renaissance Art History since 1997. Her articles on Turkmens, Syrian Christians, Armenians, and Baroque travelers have appeared in¬†Muqarnas,¬†Renaissance Studies, the¬†Journal for the Society of Armenian Studies,¬†Early Modern Women: An Interdisciplinary Journal, and the¬†Memoirs of the American Academy in Rome. She has held fellowships including a Fulbright-Hayes to Italy, a J. Paul Getty Postdoctoral Fellowship, an Aga Khan Postdoctoral Fellowship, and a Newhouse Center Fellowship at Wellesley College. Her current book project is titled, ‚ÄúFacing Tunis: Hafsids and Habsburgs in the Early Modern Mediterranean.‚ÄĚ

Treasurer Janna Israel (2021)

Interim Secretary Bradley Cavallo (2021) is an independent scholar who earned his Ph.D. from Temple University in 2017, specializing in Renaissance art with an emphasis on the technique of painting on stone and metal. His current research project treats with stone-, metal-supported, and micromosaic funerary portraiture in 16th‚Äď19th century Rome.


Awards Committee. Chair Max Grossman (2022) leads the committee that awards grants to graduate students, recent PhDs, and international scholars to support presentations on Italian art at any conference where the IAS is sponsoring a session (CAA, ICMS/Kalamazoo, RSA, SCSC, and SAH). Members: Raffaele Bedarida (2023), Jasmine Cloud (2023), Johanna Heinrichs (2023), and Dana Katz (2023).

Emerging Scholars Committee (ESC).¬†Chair Tenley Bick¬†(2022) oversees the committee charged with creating opportunities and resources for graduate students and emerging scholars and managing a Facebook group, “IAS Emerging Scholars Committee,” and Twitter handle, #ias_esc, forums for announcements and conversations of interest to junior scholars. Members: Rebecca Howard (2022), Brenna Larsen (2022), Christine Zappella (2022) and Ashley Offill (2023).

Membership, Outreach, & Development Committee. CoChairs Nicola Camerlenghi (2021) (in charge of Development)  and Katherine T. Brown (2021) (in charge of Membership) oversee the committee charged with growing and diversifying our membership and visibility in keeping with our mission to foster the study and appreciation of Italian art from prehistory to the present. Members: Sharon C. Smith (2021), Elizabeth A. Kassler-Taub (2023), and Bridget Sandhoff (2023). The Executive Vice President, Treasurer & Membership Coordinator, and Events Coordinator serve as ex-officio members of this committee.

Program Committee. The Program Committee shepherds IAS conference sessions from inception to completion. Vice President for Program Coordination Cristelle Baskins (2022) and the committee members accept conference session ideas year round. Members: Valerie Palazzolo (2021), Alison Perchuk (2022), Andrew Casper (2023), and Theresa Flanigan (2023).

Nominating Committee: The nominating committee solicits and vets nominations for open officer, board, committee, and communication positions and includes chairwoman Sharon Hecker (2021), Cristiana Filipino (2021), Elizabeth Lisot-Nelson (2021), Madeline Rislow (2021), and Loren Whittaker (2023). 

Communications Team

Publications Coordinator and Newsletter Editor Livia Lupi (2023) welcomes submissions to the IAS newsletter, published three times annually. The Newsletter Assistant is Bradley Cavallo (2023).

IASblog editor Jean Marie Carey (2021) looks forward to your comments and questions about the IAS website and contributions to the IASblog.

Social Media Coordinator Elizabeth Ranieri (2023) manages the IAS presence on FaceBook, Twitter, and Please follow us on these sites!

Events Coordinator Tiffany Lynn Hunt (2022) organizes IAS events at conferences in the USA as well as abroad in Italy.

Further information on the responsibilities of the officers and committees may be found in the IAS By-Laws. Please consult the Vacancies page to see what opportunities are available for service to the IAS.