Prizes & Awards

The webmaster welcomes contributions to this list of any prizes or awards relevant to the study of art made in Italy from antiquity to the present day.

APS Jacques Barzun Prize in Cultural History

The American Philosophical Society awards the Jacques Barzun Prize annually to the author or authors whose book exhibits distinguished work in American or European cultural history. Deadline 31 January for books published in the previous calendar year.

Bruno Zevi Prize

Established in 2007, for the fifth anniversary of the Bruno Zevi Foundation, the Bruno Zevi Prize for a historical-critical essay on architecture is an international competition to award a prize for a historical-critical essay offering an original analysis of an architectural work, theme or architect of the past or present.

The Bruno Zevi Prize is open to PhD researchers and is divided into five sections corresponding with the following themes:

  • the key role of space in architecture;
  • the ancient sources of modern language;
  • history as a methodology of architectural practice;
  • the modern language of architecture;
  • landscape and the zero-degree language of architecture.

The Prize consists of the publication of the essay by the Bruno Zevi Foundation. The author of the winning essay will be invited to give a lecture in Rome on the occasion of the conferment of the award.

CES Book Award

The Council for European Studies (CES) offers the European Studies Book Award every two years to the best first book on any subject in European Studies.

Officers & Contacts